Interview with Author L.L Hunter

I’m so pleased to have been given the opportunity to interview the brilliant and very talented author Laura L Hunter. I know Laura’s been extremely busy and I would like to thank her for taking time out from her swamped schedule to chat with us ~we can’t wait to learn more.

Welcome Laura!

Laura L Hunter

Tell us a little about yourself. When did your interest in writing begin?

I live in Australia and I think my interest for writing started when my love for fantasy novels began, when I was around 14 or 15. I picked up “The Subtle Knife” by Phillip Pullman and just fell in love with the amazing worlds he created. I thought, “I want to create something just as amazing that people can lose themselves in.”

Tell us a little about “The Chronicles of Fire and Ice.” and your “The Legend of the Archangel” series.

The Chronicles of Fire and Ice and the Legend of the Archangel series is set in a world where the human race is endangered and Nephilim (half angel – half human) have taken over. It follows the adventures of 21 year old Scarlett Porter when she enrolls at a special Angel Academy to help enrich her angel ability, or Trait as they’re called in the book. She soon discovers she is the last one left with archangel blood in their veins, and everyone wants her, including an army of Lucifer’s followers.

There are 6 books in the series and The Chronicles of Fire and Ice is now represented by a literary agent in NYC so will be republished with them by the end of the year.

LLHUNTER Books

What is the most important thing for you when writing your novels?

The most important thing for me is to make sure I remain consistent throughout my many intricate plotlines while still maintaining character developments. I am still learning!

Do you outline/plot or do you prefer to just write and see where an idea leads you? Has your process changed from when you first started?

In the beginning I just wrote as my brain gave me the words, but now as my plotlines grow more intricate, I have to plot to create continuity.

Do you ever get writer’s block? If you do, how do you work through it?

If I get writer’s block with a certain project, I leave it alone for a while and work on something else or read. It usually resolves itself after a while.

What books and/or authors have most influenced your life?

Oh my gosh, the list is LONG! I’d have to say the ones that pop straight in my head are JRR Tolkien’s The Hobbit, Cassandra Clare, Phillip Pullman, Kathy Reichs and some of my new indie friends, Airicka Phoenix and Becky Elizabeth Searson mainly. If I listed every single one of my new author friends, you’d have several pages of interview!

If you could choose one of your characters to travel the globe with, who would it be? Is there one in particular that holds a special place in your heart?

This is like saying pick your favourite child, because they are my babies. I’d have to choose Scarlett because she was one of the first characters I ever created and I just love her fiery (literally!) spirit and her determined attitude.

What is the most memorable feedback you have received about your work?

Just this week I was told by a reader who said my latest YA novella, The Garden of Eden changed her life! I was speechless! To think my work changed someone’s life! That was a profound moment for me.

Can you tell us what is coming up for you and where can we find you online?

Right now I am busily editing The Chronicles of Fire and Ice for re-release at the end of the year, then I have the release of my first NA contemporary romantic suspense on October 1st. I’m so proud of this story and I hope people will love it as much as I do.

In between all that I will be busy writing 3 maybe 4 books planned for release next year. The life of an author is never dull!

You can find L.L. Hunter online at the following places:

Facebook:

Author page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/LL-Hunter/110104129132865

The Legend of the Archangel series page: https://www.facebook.com/Legendofthearchangel

Twitter: https://twitter.com/LLHunterbooks

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6559537.L_L_Hunter

Blog: http://llhunter.blogspot.com.au

Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/L.-L.-Hunter/e/B00B2B701I/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1378254431&sr=1-2-ent

To learn more about Laura, please check out her links, not to mention her wonderful work!

About BWitzenhausen

Writer, Editor, Creativity Coach, Artist, Amateur Photographer, Lover of Psychology/Neurology, Armchair Archaeologist, Palaeography Nut, Coffee Addict, Book Worm, Tea Lover & Hubby's Grossly Under-Paid Bass Roadie;)

Posted on September 5, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

