Catching up with Author ~ MaryAnn Kempher

Welcome back MaryAnn Kempher!

 I had the wonderful opportunity to interview MaryAnn after she released her first book last spring and now she has released her second book “Forever Doomed”. I thought I would take a few moments to catch up with her.

 

Forever_Doomed_fullcover_for_sharing_online

Back in April you were launching your first book “Mocha, Moonlight, and Murder” tell us a little bit about what has been going on since you first published.

Thank you so much for hosting me Belinda. What have I been doing? I’ve been hard at work on my second book.

Now you’re publishing your second book “Forever Doomed”, how is it publishing the second time around? My first book was published by a small publisher. I am publishing Forever Doomed myself. I like it, I like having the control, knowing what’s happening and when it will happen.

Were things different this time around and if so, what did you learn from the first time? The writing experience was different. With my first book, I wasn’t disciplined. Some days I wrote, some days I didn’t. With this book, I was much more devoted to finishing, much more disciplined. I wrote five days a week.

Are you more comfortable with the process or is does it feel like you’re publishing for the first time again? I’m comfortable, and very excited. More so this time I think, because I know where I’m at in the process. With my first book, it was published—live on Amazon—and nobody told me. I discovered it the same way anyone else would. I went to Amazon and searched for the title. So with this book, I feel more in control.

Do you have any advice for other writers trying to get published? I’d tell someone with a finished book, if your heart is set on being published traditionally, keep at it until you are. If your dream is more flexible—definitely self-publish. But, above all else, trust your instincts, and don’t settle.

Tell us a bit about your new book? Who is your intended audience? Is this a continuation of “Mocha, Moonlight, and Murder” or is it a stand alone? This book picks up where Mocha, Moonlight, and Murder left off. However, the focus is no longer on Katherine and Scott (the main characters from Mocha). It’s set on a cruise ship, where one week into a four-week cruise—two people are murdered, and the ship is turned around. The head of security must find the killer(s) before the ship returns to port. Most characters from Mocha are in this book also, just not playing a starring role.

Who is your intended audience and why should they read your book? This book will appeal to anyone who loves a good mystery. It has a little romance and humor too, but mostly it’s a head-scratching who-dun-it.

Which of your characters is your favorite and which is your least favorite? Why? My favorites are Nene and Gaga Albright. Two little old ladies who spend most of the cruise sitting on lounge chairs eating cake and cookies and drinking hot chocolate. My least favorite? How can I dislike my own characters? Even the bad guy(s)? Okay, if I must choose someone, it would be RJ. He’s just weird.

Give us an interesting tidbit about how you work on your books. I don’t know how interesting this is, but this is how I start my writing day. I get the kids off to school and I take a walk, when I’m not being too lazy. When I return home, I clean up, get my coffee and sit in front of the computer doing almost anything but write. Finally, I open my work in progress and wait for inspiration to strike.

Are there any books that other readers would find a similar style to yours? While I’m not saying I’m in the same league as Jane Austen or Agatha Christie, they both inspire my writing, and I hope, if they were alive today and read my books—they’d say, “Well done.” Also, I love Janet Evanovich, for her humor and casual style.

Okay now for a little fun….let’s get to know MaryAnn a little better…You are creating a character profile for yourself…

Do you have any unique talents or hobbies?

🙂 Unique? No, I don’t think so. I like to do what most people like to do; read, shop, watch movies, and eat junk food.

Coffee or Tea?

Both. Coffee at home, Chai tea from Starbucks.

An event in your life that shaped you?

I spent 20 years in the Air Force. I retired in 2007.

Dream Vacation Spot?

New York City. I love New York. But, I’d also love to visit London someday, very soon.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

In five years I’ll have written at least 7 more books and be a bestselling author. 🙂

Wow, Thanks MaryAnn! 🙂 I know that we’ll be seeing your name on the best-seller list! 🙂

What’s coming up for you next and how can we contact you or find out more about your books?

In January, I’ll start writing my third book. It will be set back in Reno.

You can connect with me in a few ways:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MaryAnnKempher

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorMaryAnnKempher?filter=1

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/dashboard

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/maryannkempher/boards/

I would like to thank MaryAnn yet again for taking a few moments to catch up with us! If you’re looking for a great read, please stop by her links to find out more about her wonderful work.

~~~

MaryAnn Bio Pic

Author Bio:

MaryAnn Kempher’s writing is infused with mystery and romance. She spent her teen years living in Reno NV where her first book, Mocha, Moonlight, and Murder is set. Her writing influences include favorite authors Agatha Christie, Jane Austen and Janet Evanovich. Her guilty pleasures include any and all sweets, including a good cup of Mocha. She is married with two children.

For more about MaryAnn Kempher, visit her author Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorMaryAnnKempher or her website: mkempher.com

About BWitzenhausen

Writer, Editor, Creativity Coach, Artist, Amateur Photographer, Lover of Psychology/Neurology, Armchair Archaeologist, Palaeography Nut, Coffee Addict, Book Worm, Tea Lover & Hubby's Grossly Under-Paid Bass Roadie;)

Posted on December 5, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

