Review of The Ripper’s Shadow Laura Joh Rowland via @crookedlanebks

therippers-shadow-cover

I received a complimentary ARC copy of The Ripper’s Shadow by Laura Joh Rowland from NetGalley in order to read and give an honest review.

I have to say I loved this book. At first I was a bit leery reading another book based on the history of Jack the Ripper but this was such a fresh take on something that has been done time and time again.

In order to make ends meet Sarah Bain takes a side job shooting illegal boudoir photographs of Whitechapel’s ladies of the evening.  When her models are being slaughtered one by one by Jack the Ripper, Sarah feels she needs to stop him.  Not being able to go to the police Sarah and a group of eclectic friends put themselves in danger to try to save the rest of her models before Jack the Ripper makes another appearance.

It has it all; a fast-paced intriguing plot, dynamic characters, a touch of humor, edge of your seat scenes and some heartwarming moments between the characters. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to lose themselves in a good book.

About BWitzenhausen

Writer, Editor, Creativity Coach, Artist, Amateur Photographer, Lover of Psychology/Neurology, Armchair Archaeologist, Palaeography Nut, Coffee Addict, Book Worm, Tea Lover & Hubby's Grossly Under-Paid Bass Roadie;)

Posted on January 14, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi!

    I’m Jo, artist, writer, traveller, wild west nut and renaissance soul. I’ve recovered from thirty years of depression and anxiety and I’m now writing on my blog, Creating My Odyssey, about the rebuilding of my polymath creative lifestyle.

    I’m hoping to reach people with mental health issues and creatives in general to give encouragement, inspiration, and hopefully some enjoyment.

    I wondered if you might like to read it. Thank you!

    Jo UK http://www.joclutton.simplesite.com

    On 14 Jan 2017 05:04, “IgniteYourCreativity.net by Belinda Witzenhausen” wrote:

    > bwitzenhausen posted: ” I received a complimentary ARC copy of The > Ripper’s Shadow by Laura Joh Rowland from NetGalley in order to read and > give an honest review. I have to say I loved this book. At first I was a > bit leery reading another book based on the history of J” >

Leave a Reply

