Daily Archives: January 21, 2017

Book Review of Midnight Curse by Melissa F. Olson ( @MelissaFOlson )

midnightcursebookcovermelissafolson

Shifters, Vampires, and Witches…oh my!

I received a complimentary ARC copy of Midnight Curse (Disrupted Magic #1) by Melissa F. Olson from NetGalley in order to read and give an honest review.

I’m new to Melissa  F.Olson’s work and I should ask myself…what was I waiting for?

I really enjoyed this book, her voice is unique, her characters interesting and a plot that kept me turning pages well into the wee hours of the morning. The protagonist is a cleaner of sorts, she cleans up magical “crime scenes” so that us mere mortals never find out about the paranormal “Old World”.  She is a “null” who can negate magical powers within a certain radius. It is a unique ability which is helpful in keeping her safe…. most of the time.

 When a former friend from Scarlett’s past, Molly, is framed for mass murder she desperately needs help to clear her name and escape the death penalty. Scarlett puts aside her baggage to save Molly, keep magic hidden and prove her innocence. With her friends, loved ones and trusty pup (okay, actually a magical monstrous Barguest) in her corner she goes against some diabolical opponents who want to keep the truth hidden at all costs.

 Scarlett Bernard has been featured in a previous series and even though I loved this book as a stand-alone I wish I had read her first series. The back story given was just enough but it made me long to go back and see what led the characters to this point in their lives.  I do plan on going back and reading the first series while I wait patiently (or not *pouts*) for the second book in the “Disrupted Magic” series.

