Mocha, Moonlight, and Murder ~ An Interview with Maryann Kempher

Recently, the wonderfully talented author, Maryann Kempher took a moment to answer a few questions about writing and her new release Mocha, Moonlight and Murder.

Welcome Maryann!

MaryannKempher

Tell us a little about yourself. When did your interest in writing begin?

Hi Belinda. First let me thank you for having me on your blog. I really appreciate it. I have always enjoyed writing. I didn’t decide to write a book though until a few years ago. The idea to write a book just came to me one day, out of the blue.

Tell us a little bit about your new book ~ “Mocha, Moonlight, and Murder”

Mocha, Moonlight, and Murder has it all. Romance, suspense, humor, sexual tension, and of course–murder.

Mocha, Moonlight, and Murder is romantic suspense. It will appeal to romance lovers because my two main characters, Katherine and Scott have really great chemistry, and I don’t mean just sexual. They just have this fantastic friendship before any romantic feelings ever surface. They start out as partners on a college project and become best friends. Eventually, they fall in love. No big spoiler there, but it’s the journey, they don’t just fall into bed with each other. They really like each other and the reader will really like them. Mocha, Moonlight, and Murder will also appeal to readers who love a good mystery; a woman is brutally murdered three blocks from Katherine’s apartment. She sees the killer as he’s preparing to dispose of the woman’s body but manages to out run him. He finds out who she is and starts stalking her.

Mocha Moonlight and Murder Cover (1)

Did you learn anything from writing the book?

I learned that it’s really hard. That it was easy to start, but not always easy to finish. It takes serious discipline. There are so many distractions; kids, television, the outside world. It’s so easy to just not write.

Which character (if any) would you most like to invite over to dinner?

Detective Jack Harney. He is super sexy and a huge flirt, but a really nice guy. I envisioned him as very masculine, but always a gentleman.

What books have most influenced your life?

Anything written by Jane Austen or Agatha Christie.

Is there a message in your work that you want to convey to your readers?

I wouldn’t say a message. If you wanted to take anything away from reading Mocha, Moonlight, and Murder it would be that friendship is the best foundation for love.

Can you tell us what is coming up for you and where can we find you online?

I’m working on my second book. It’s not exactly a sequel but a lot of the characters from Mocha, Moonlight, and Murder will make cameo appearances.

You can find me on Facebook; Author Maryann Kempher.

I’m on Twitter: My “handle” is @MaryAnnKempher

You can check out my website: http://mkempher.com

You’ll be able to buy the book for only $2.99 at http://www.Amazon.com and at http://www.BarnesandNoble.com

 I would like to take this opportunity to thank Maryann for taking time out of her busy schedule to share with us.  Please stop by her links to find out more about her amazing work. 

One thought on “Mocha, Moonlight, and Murder ~ An Interview with Maryann Kempher

  1. Pingback: Catching up with Author ~ MaryAnn Kempher | IgniteYourCreativity.net by Belinda Witzenhausen

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.